Back to “Normal”

Standard

Well, Ben’s vacation is over, so we’ve returned to real life, which is full of all the laundry I neglected last week, a little boy who wakes up every morning expecting his daddy to be here, and a daddy who wishes he could be.

We enjoyed every minute, though. The Happy Cow tour was cancelled because of the glorious rain we had on Wednesday — an exchange I was willing to make for the garden’s sake! But Ben really does want to visit the Creamery, so we’ll try to reschedule soon. The trip to Riverbanks Zoo, however, was really fun.

Around here, PsychoBunny is still psycho, but her babies are moving around enough now that we can see there are two black ones, two white ones, and one brown one. The other doe’s babies are ready to go, so I have to get them advertised. Ben’s grandparents brought us the “rabbits for sale” signs they used to put out, but I haven’t decided yet if I’m ready for random strangers to start coming up the driveway at any time of day…

Our hens had a few slow days again (8-10 eggs a day), but each of the past two days we’ve gotten fourteen. It always makes me smile when I go outside and the girls rush to crowd against the fence, hoping I’m bringing kitchen scraps. There’s not much they can’t have — raw potato peels, onions, citrus peels, and a few other things– and it’s so great to see them turn our food waste into more eggs. A few days ago, the Comets and Leghorns apparently decided to send out their champions for a little friendly competition, and the result was two eggs that each literally filled my hand.

(The egg in the middle is normal for us, approximately equivalent to an “extra large” from the grocery store.)

As for the babies, the Buff Orps are fully feathered now and ready to go outside as soon as their tractor is done. They’re so sweet and docile, while the EEs are completely crazy, going into full-fledged panic mode every time I reach into the brooder. The Silver Laced Wyandottes are like the Buffs, basically laid-back and more curious than frightened. It’s interesting how those personality traits are preprogrammed into each breed — they’ve all been well-treated and equally handled since coming to our house, and yet they respond completely differently. We’ll have to see if the EEs mellow out as they get older.

Here’s what the 3-week-old SLWs look like:

This little one is pretending to be an SLW, too, but I’m not sure it is. It has much more white on it, and it has a single yellow comb instead of the pea comb the others are beginning to sport. I’ve read that SLW roos sometimes have more white across the shoulders as chicks, so maybe it’s just a boy with a weird comb. Any ideas?


On a different note, I’m seriously craving strawberry-rhubarb pie. I think we might be making a grocery run today for just that purpose. My sister found a great recipe last year that I want to try for myself, and Ben never complains about coming home to baked goods!

But first, more laundry.

One response »

  1. Great zoo pics! I love the slw chicks pic- now I know what ours will look like, so thanks! 😉 I keep reminding myself that it will take quite awhile for our chicks to start looking like the chickens in the books and catalogs.

Leave a Reply

